Horizon Zero Dawn

Dateranoth

I decided I haven't played anything lately and picked this up on a whim last night. I really just started, but I'm pretty impressed. 

I'm running the original PS4, and the game does look amazing. It is locked at lower frames, but I haven't seen one frame drop. Not to mention no loads to speak of so far, and all the cutscenes seem to be using the game engine so it's seamless.

Game play wise I'm just getting started. I'll be honest, I'm pretty tired of the gather stuff to make stuff game play style that has taken over. So far though, it seems to be mostly done through the machines which is at least fun. 

Considering I haven't even done the first main quest it's a bit early to judge, but I think I'm going to like it. 

Yes! Love it. I'm really into it now. 

My only small complaint is the stealth. I put a lot of points into stealth before I realized everything can't be taken down immediately from cover. It's not a big deal. I just end up doing a lot of smack run away smack again. 

Still, this is one of those games like Middle Earth where all the fights feel fun. Though, the one damn invisible stalker type I've fought so far was tough as hell. 

I stuck with stealth and override early on. I enjoy the play style, but stealth with human enemies is just a joke. I took out one of the level 25 bandit camps at level 15 with out taking a hit. Haha. 

On the the other hand, the boss fights in the cauldrons have been tough. I also took down my first Thunderjaw last night which was extremely fun.

I actually like one thing a lot, and that's the level doesn't really make the game super easier. I did a lot of side quests and hunting before moving on so I just got to Merridian, and I'm level 31.However, the missions still feel challenging. This game would be super tough on hard.

• 2 weeks later...